The Real Taste of Egypt

IMG_2544

Egypt is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world and rightly so.  The country is literally covered with ancient ruins dating back to the Pharaohs and their magnificent civilization.

But there is more to Egypt than its amazing history. The people, the culture, the diversity, and its current political complexities intrigued me and I wanted to see it like a Native.

I wanted to get an authentic experience, to immerse myself to the core with everything that is Egyptian.

And this is exactly what I did.

Join me as I travel Egypt like a Native, get a real taste of this magnificent country, maybe you will want to do the same 🙂

Just outside Burj Al Arab airport, my ride was waiting; an old Suzuki Mini Van locally known as “Tanaya”; economic, strong, and capable of enduring difficult terrains especially in the outskirts of Egypt; really slow on the road but convenient.

IMG_1768

Bad idea to take photos in or outside the airport :$

 

This Tanaya was going to be my companion most of this adventure. Starting and driving it requires skills only known to Egyptians but once you know the secrets, get the hang of it, all is well.

temp37

Tanaya, Credits; Google, the older the van, the more you will feel the road 

It took me more than two hours to reach my residence in Al Beheira; a coastal governorate located in the northern part of the country in the Nile Delta; the capital is called Damanhur.

IMG_1773

In spite of all hardships, the Egyptians are always smiling. Taxi drivers by the airport

 

Roughed up by the bumpy road, I arrived to my host’s house exhausted.

IMG_1770

Al Ahli sticker on a car; a famous football team. El zamalek is the enemy team 🙂

Upon arrival, I received a warm reception from the hosting family, good food, hot water and a bed. Happy that I was finally in Egypt I soon drifted asleep.

IMG_1777

🙂

Stay tuned for more 🙂

 

Writing & Photography

Samar M. Salma

28/7/2017

PS: This blog reflects my personal opinion and my personal take on many issues. Its not a scientific paper, the information used is based on internet searches and some scholarly articles. Its purpose is to entertain and everything mentioned is open for debate and correction. Content & Photos are copyrighted.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

